Click on a race column header to sort by the results of that race. Positions in red indicate "not classified" (did not finish 90% of the race distance).

01381Lewis Hamilton44Mercedes12112312161118111222
02322Nico Rosberg6Mercedes232311212821742182111
03278Sebastian Vettel5Ferrari313532543112213231834
04150Kimi Räikkönen7Ferrari124425641981875348161943
05136Valtteri Bottas77Williams56441435513945512193513
06121Felipe Massa19Williams465106156341263191741768
0795Daniil Kvyat26Red Bull169199104912624106135134710
0892Daniel Ricciardo3Red Bull6109675131015318821515105116
0978Sergio Pérez11Force India101311813711991956712358125
1058Nico Hülkenberg27Force India714201315118672072061914767
1151Romain Grosjean8Lotus141177812101517731913717181089
1249Max Verstappen33Toro Rosso13717181118158164812891049916
1327Felipe Nasr12Sauber512812129161120111113102069171315
1427Pastor Maldonado13Lotus151618151920771814192012878111020
1518Carlos Sainz55Toro Rosso981319910121614171711910167131911
1616Jenson Button22McLaren1117142016819171991414161696141412
1711Fernando Alonso14McLaren18121120192020105131817111111201517
189Marcus Ericsson9Sauber819101414131413111010911142015121614
0Kevin Magnussen20McLaren17
0Will Stevens28Marussia1516171717181316161515191420161718
0Alexander Rossi53Marussia1418121518
0Roberto Merhi98Marussia15161718161814121515161319

Formula One Points Systems

In its 60-year history, Formula One has seen six different points structures, and for many years the championship also discarded several of a driver's lowest results, presumably to mitigate the damage of getting a couple of DNFs during the season. Here is the list of F1 points scoring systems.

In recent years the points structure has changed to award points to more than the traditional top six finishers—first switching to a top eight structure, and now to a top ten structure. This helps to create some points separation between mid-pack and backmarker teams.

The other significant change between points structures is the changing of the value of a race win relative to second place:

Era1st Place2nd Place% of 1st
1950 to 19608 pts6 pts75%
1961 to 19909 pts6 pts67%
1991 to 200210 pts6 pts60%
2003 to 200910 pts8 pts80%
201025 pts18 pts72%

From 1991 to 2002 the value of a win was at its greatest, when the 2nd place finisher received only 60% of the points awarded to the winner. This encouraged drivers to fight for the win, because a driver with several wins and a few DNFs could score higher than a driver who always finished strong but never won a race.

From 2003 to 2009 the value of a win was at its lowest, when the 2nd place finisher received 80% of the points awarded to the winner. This encouraged less risky driving because a steady record of high points finishes was better than risking a DNF by driving aggressively for the win.

Starting in 2010, the value of a win was increased again, with the 2nd place finisher getting 72% of the points of the winner.

The links at the top of the page allow you to compare the current season's point structure to the 2003-2009 era (when the value of a win was at its lowest) and the 1991-2002 era (when the value of a win was at its highest). Note that the 'P' column always shows the current season ranking, so you can easily see where the order gets flipped around under a previous points structure.

Starting in 2019, a bonus point is awarded for the fast lap of the race, but only if the person with the fast lap finishes in the top 10, otherwise no bonus point is awarded. A bonus point for fast lap was previously used from 1950 to 1959.


F1 Driver Progression Chart 2015

Season:   2015    2014    2013    2012    2011    2010    2009    2008    2007    2006  ::  Home (2019 - Present)  

Hover your mouse over the points in the chart for details. Click on the menu below to see the championship standings after each race.


F1 Season Review 2015

Read the 2015 F1 Season Preview / Review. Click on the menu below to review each race.

The 2015 Formula One Season

F1 Season Preview


F1 Season Review

F1 2015 Results


All feedback is welcome! I probably won't add any functionality to this page anymore, but maybe I'll revisit it in the future...

Enthusiast F1 Links

F1 Fanatic
Clip The Apex
Badger GP

Official F1 and Major Media Links
Yahoo / EuroSport

F1 Team Web Sites

Red Bull Racing
McLaren Honda
Scuderia Ferrari
Mercedes AMG Petronas F1
Lotus F1 Team
Sahara Force India F1 Team
Sauber F1 Team
Scuderia Toro Rosso
Williams F1 Team
Manor Marussia F1 Team