F1 Driver Results Table 2019

Season:   2019  ::  See Archive (2006 - 2015)  

Calculated using the 2003-2009 points structure: 10-8-6-5-4-3-2-1 

Click on a race column header to sort by the results of that race. Positions in red indicate "not classified" (did not finish 90% of the race distance). Fast Lap indicates fast lap bonus.

01100Lewis Hamilton44Mercedes8101081010101041010
0278Valtteri Bottas77Mercedes1088108658681
0373Max Verstappen33Red Bull65556545104108
0465Sebastian Vettel5Ferrari54665884586
0553Charles Leclerc16Ferrari4644466865
0622Pierre Gasly10Red Bull13341253
0721Carlos Sainz55McLaren21331344
088Kimi Räikkönen7Alfa Romeo12212
098Daniil Kvyat26Toro Rosso26
107Lando Norris4McLaren313
117Daniel Ricciardo3Renault232
125Lance Stroll18Racing Point5
136Kevin Magnussen20Haas321
145Nico Hülkenberg27Renault221
154Alexander Albon23Toro Rosso13
164Sergio Pérez11Racing Point13
172Romain Grosjean8Haas2
180Robert Kubica88Williams
190Antonio Giovinazzi99Alfa Romeo
0George Russell63Williams

Formula One Points Systems

In its 60-year history, Formula One has seen six different points structures, and for many years the championship also discarded several of a driver's lowest results, presumably to mitigate the damage of getting a couple of DNFs during the season. Here is the list of F1 points scoring systems.

In recent years the points structure has changed to award points to more than the traditional top six finishers—first switching to a top eight structure, and now to a top ten structure. This helps to create some points separation between mid-pack and backmarker teams.

The other significant change between points structures is the changing of the value of a race win relative to second place:

Era1st Place2nd Place% of 1st
1950 to 19608 pts6 pts75%
1961 to 19909 pts6 pts67%
1991 to 200210 pts6 pts60%
2003 to 200910 pts8 pts80%
201025 pts18 pts72%

From 1991 to 2002 the value of a win was at its greatest, when the 2nd place finisher received only 60% of the points awarded to the winner. This encouraged drivers to fight for the win, because a driver with several wins and a few DNFs could score higher than a driver who always finished strong but never won a race.

From 2003 to 2009 the value of a win was at its lowest, when the 2nd place finisher received 80% of the points awarded to the winner. This encouraged less risky driving because a steady record of high points finishes was better than risking a DNF by driving aggressively for the win.

Starting in 2010, the value of a win was increased again, with the 2nd place finisher getting 72% of the points of the winner.

The links at the top of the page allow you to compare the current season's point structure to the 2003-2009 era (when the value of a win was at its lowest) and the 1991-2002 era (when the value of a win was at its highest). Note that the 'P' column always shows the current season ranking, so you can easily see where the order gets flipped around under a previous points structure.

Starting in 2019, a bonus point is awarded for the fast lap of the race, but only if the person with the fast lap finishes in the top 10, otherwise no bonus point is awarded. A bonus point for fast lap was previously used from 1950 to 1959.


F1 Driver Progression Chart 2019

Season:   2019  ::  See Archive (2006 - 2015)  

Calculated using the 2003-2009 points structure: 10-8-6-5-4-3-2-1 

Hover your mouse over the points in the chart for details. Click on the menu below to see the championship standings after each race.


F1 Season Review 2019

Read the 2019 F1 Season Preview / Review. Click on the menu below to review each race.

Hungarian Grand Prix    (2 - 4 August 2019)



Formula1.com Hungarian GP Qualifying Results

Starting Grid
1Max VerstappenRed Bull
2Valtteri BottasMercedes
3Lewis HamiltonMercedes
4Charles LeclercFerrari
5Sebastian VettelFerrari
6Pierre GaslyRed Bull
7Lando NorrisMcLaren
8Carlos SainzMcLaren
9Romain GrosjeanHaas
10Kimi RäikkönenAlfa Romeo
11Nico HülkenbergRenault
12Alexander AlbonToro Rosso
13Daniil KvyatToro Rosso
14Kevin MagnussenHaas
15George RussellWilliams
16Sergio PérezRacing Point
17Antonio GiovinazziAlfa RomeoPenalty1
18Lance StrollRacing Point
19Robert KubicaWilliams
20Daniel RicciardoRenaultPenalty2
1Giovinazzi penalised three places for impeding another
driver during qualifying.
2Ricciardo required to start from back of grid due to multiple
power unit element changes.




Formula1.com Hungarian GP Race Results

Race Results (70 laps)
DriverTeamTime  Notes
1Lewis HamiltonMercedes1:35:04  25 pts
2Max VerstappenRed Bull+17.8s  19 pts (FL)
3Sebastian VettelFerrari+61.4s  15 pts
4Charles LeclercFerrari+65.3s  12 pts
5Carlos SainzMcLaren+1 lap  10 pts
6Pierre GaslyRed Bull+1 lap  8 pts
7Kimi RäikkönenAlfa Romeo+1 lap  6 pts
8Valtteri BottasMercedes+1 lap  4 pts
9Lando NorrisMcLaren+1 lap  2 pts
10Alexander AlbonToro Rosso+1 lap  1 pt
11Sergio PérezRacing Point+1 lap 
12Nico HülkenbergRenault+1 lap 
13Kevin MagnussenHaas+1 lap 
14Daniel RicciardoRenault+1 lap 
15Daniil KvyatToro Rosso+2 laps 
16George RussellWilliams+2 laps 
17Lance StrollRacing Point+2 laps 
18Antonio GiovinazziAlfa Romeo+2 laps 
19Robert KubicaWilliams+3 laps 
NCRomain GrosjeanHaas49 lapsDNF



All feedback is welcome! I probably won't add any functionality to this page anymore, but maybe I'll revisit it in the future...

Enthusiast F1 Links

F1 Fanatic
Clip The Apex
Badger GP

Official F1 and Major Media Links

Yahoo / EuroSport

F1 Team Web Sites

Red Bull Racing
McLaren Honda
Scuderia Ferrari
Mercedes AMG Petronas F1
Lotus F1 Team
Sahara Force India F1 Team
Sauber F1 Team
Scuderia Toro Rosso
Williams F1 Team
Manor Marussia F1 Team