F1 Driver Results Table 2014

Season:   2015    2014    2013    2012    2011    2010    2009    2008    2007    2006  

Calculated using the 2003-2009 points structure: 10-8-6-5-4-3-2-1 

Click on a race column header to sort by the results of that race. Positions in red indicate "not classified" (did not finish 90% of the race distance).

01156Lewis Hamilton44Mercedes101010108810661010101010820
02135Nico Rosberg6Mercedes108888108101058888810
0395Daniel Ricciardo3Red Bull55661016310104652610
0473Valtteri Bottas77Williams41124268816536412
0565Sebastian Vettel1Red Bull6345645243861242
0662Fernando Alonso14Ferrari556353434825333
0754Felipe Massa19Williams222546425616
0849Jenson Button22McLaren633551314558
0933Nico Hülkenberg27Force India34434412116
1018Sergio Pérez11Force India631224
1117Kevin Magnussen20McLaren82241
1216Kimi Räikkönen7Ferrari2123512
135Jean-Éric Vergne25Toro Rosso113
142Romain Grosjean8Lotus11
150Daniil Kvyat26Toro Rosso
160Pastor Maldonado13Lotus
170Jules Bianchi17Marussia
0Esteban Gutiérrez21Sauber
0Adrian Sutil99Sauber
0Kamui Kobayashi10Caterham
0Will Stevens28Caterham
0André Lotterer45Caterham
0Marcus Ericsson9Caterham
0Max Chilton4Marussia

Formula One Points Systems

In its 60-year history, Formula One has seen six different points structures, and for many years the championship also discarded several of a driver's lowest results, presumably to mitigate the damage of getting a couple of DNFs during the season. Here is the list of F1 points scoring systems.

In recent years the points structure has changed to award points to more than the traditional top six finishers—first switching to a top eight structure, and now to a top ten structure. This helps to create some points separation between mid-pack and backmarker teams.

The other significant change between points structures is the changing of the value of a race win relative to second place:

Era1st Place2nd Place% of 1st
1950 to 19608 pts6 pts75%
1961 to 19909 pts6 pts67%
1991 to 200210 pts6 pts60%
2003 to 200910 pts8 pts80%
201025 pts18 pts72%

From 1991 to 2002 the value of a win was at its greatest, when the 2nd place finisher received only 60% of the points awarded to the winner. This encouraged drivers to fight for the win, because a driver with several wins and a few DNFs could score higher than a driver who always finished strong but never won a race.

From 2003 to 2009 the value of a win was at its lowest, when the 2nd place finisher received 80% of the points awarded to the winner. This encouraged less risky driving because a steady record of high points finishes was better than risking a DNF by driving aggressively for the win.

Starting in 2010, the value of a win was increased again, with the 2nd place finisher getting 72% of the points of the winner.

The links at the top of the page allow you to compare the current season's point structure to the 2003-2009 era (when the value of a win was at its lowest) and the 1991-2002 era (when the value of a win was at its highest). Note that the 'P' column always shows the current season ranking, so you can easily see where the order gets flipped around under a previous points structure.


F1 Driver Progression Chart 2014

Season:   2015    2014    2013    2012    2011    2010    2009    2008    2007    2006  

Calculated using the 2003-2009 points structure: 10-8-6-5-4-3-2-1 

Hover your mouse over the points in the chart for details. Click on the menu below to see the championship standings after each race.


F1 Season Review 2014

Read the 2014 F1 Season Preview / Review. Click on the menu below to review each race.

The 2014 Formula One Season

F1 Season Preview

There are a ton of technical changes that will shake up the field. See the previews below for details.

F1 Previews from Various Sources

Formula1.com F1 Preview (Part 1), (Part 2), and (Part 3)
BBC summary of new 2014 F1 rules
Fox Sports Australia summary of new 2014 F1 rules
Yahoo/Eurosport summary of new 2014 F1 rules

Driver Changes

There are three new drivers: Kevin Magnussen (McLaren), Marcus Ericsson (Caterham), and Daniil Kvyat (Toro Rosso), plus Kamui Kobayashi (Caterham) returns after a year driving for Ferrari's WEC team.

Mark Webber retired from F1 racing to join Porsche's sports car program, and Paul di Resta, Charles Pic and Giedo van der Garde lost their rides.

The biggest move of the off-season was Kimi Räikkönen moving to Ferrari.
Felipe Massa moved to Williams.
Pastor Maldonado moved to Lotus.
Sergio Pérez moved to Force India.
Daniel Ricciardo moved to Red Bull.
Nico Hülkenberg (Force India) and Adrian Sutil (Sauber) swapped seats.
Only Mercedes and Marussia retain the same driver line-up as last year.


F1 Season Review

F1 2014 Results
17United StatesRosbergHamiltonRosbergRicciardo
19Abu DhabiRosbergHamiltonMassaBottas


All feedback is welcome! I probably won't add any functionality to this page anymore, but maybe I'll revisit it in the future...

Enthusiast F1 Links

F1 Fanatic
Clip The Apex
Badger GP

Official F1 and Major Media Links

Yahoo / EuroSport

F1 Team Web Sites

Red Bull Racing
McLaren Honda
Scuderia Ferrari
Mercedes AMG Petronas F1
Lotus F1 Team
Sahara Force India F1 Team
Sauber F1 Team
Scuderia Toro Rosso
Williams F1 Team
Manor Marussia F1 Team