F1 Driver Results Table 2014

Season:   2015    2014    2013    2012    2011    2010    2009    2008    2007    2006  

Click on a race column header to sort by the results of that race. Positions in red indicate "not classified" (did not finish 90% of the race distance).

01384Lewis Hamilton44Mercedes1911112172133191111121
02317Nico Rosberg6Mercedes1222212118142221222114
03238Daniel Ricciardo3Red Bull16443318361153473184
04186Valtteri Bottas77Williams5887516732283411635103
05167Sebastian Vettel1Red Bull1836542032154756238758
06161Fernando Alonso14Ferrari449364656527214226669
07134Felipe Massa19Williams207715137124212251335711432
08126Jenson Button22McLaren36171111641148106818541245
0996Nico Hülkenberg27Force India6556105598720101298121686
1059Sergio Pérez11Force India102239921116111019877101017157
1155Kevin Magnussen20McLaren29181312109779121210101458911
1255Kimi Räikkönen7Ferrari71210871210102211649812913710
1322Jean-Éric Vergne25Toro Rosso819211222178201013911136913101312
148Romain Grosjean8Lotus151112218815141221212016131517111713
158Daniil Kvyat26Toro Rosso91011101419162292014911141114151120
162Pastor Maldonado13Lotus1621141415221912171213211412161891219
172Jules Bianchi17Marussia14201617189221514151518181620
0Esteban Gutiérrez21Sauber12171916161514192014171520201315141415
0Adrian Sutil99Sauber11182222171813131319111415192116181616
0Kamui Kobayashi10Caterham21131518211318161516181722192018
0Will Stevens28Caterham17
0André Lotterer45Caterham22
0Marcus Ericsson9Caterham17142020201120181918221719151719
0Max Chilton4Marussia13151319191421171617161622171821

Formula One Points Systems

In its 60-year history, Formula One has seen six different points structures, and for many years the championship also discarded several of a driver's lowest results, presumably to mitigate the damage of getting a couple of DNFs during the season. Here is the list of F1 points scoring systems.

In recent years the points structure has changed to award points to more than the traditional top six finishers—first switching to a top eight structure, and now to a top ten structure. This helps to create some points separation between mid-pack and backmarker teams.

The other significant change between points structures is the changing of the value of a race win relative to second place:

Era1st Place2nd Place% of 1st
1950 to 19608 pts6 pts75%
1961 to 19909 pts6 pts67%
1991 to 200210 pts6 pts60%
2003 to 200910 pts8 pts80%
201025 pts18 pts72%

From 1991 to 2002 the value of a win was at its greatest, when the 2nd place finisher received only 60% of the points awarded to the winner. This encouraged drivers to fight for the win, because a driver with several wins and a few DNFs could score higher than a driver who always finished strong but never won a race.

From 2003 to 2009 the value of a win was at its lowest, when the 2nd place finisher received 80% of the points awarded to the winner. This encouraged less risky driving because a steady record of high points finishes was better than risking a DNF by driving aggressively for the win.

Starting in 2010, the value of a win was increased again, with the 2nd place finisher getting 72% of the points of the winner.

The links at the top of the page allow you to compare the current season's point structure to the 2003-2009 era (when the value of a win was at its lowest) and the 1991-2002 era (when the value of a win was at its highest). Note that the 'P' column always shows the current season ranking, so you can easily see where the order gets flipped around under a previous points structure.


F1 Driver Progression Chart 2014

Season:   2015    2014    2013    2012    2011    2010    2009    2008    2007    2006  

Hover your mouse over the points in the chart for details. Click on the menu below to see the championship standings after each race.


F1 Season Review 2014

Read the 2014 F1 Season Preview / Review. Click on the menu below to review each race.

The 2014 Formula One Season

F1 Season Preview

There are a ton of technical changes that will shake up the field. See the previews below for details.

F1 Previews from Various Sources

Formula1.com F1 Preview (Part 1), (Part 2), and (Part 3)
BBC summary of new 2014 F1 rules
Fox Sports Australia summary of new 2014 F1 rules
Yahoo/Eurosport summary of new 2014 F1 rules

Driver Changes

There are three new drivers: Kevin Magnussen (McLaren), Marcus Ericsson (Caterham), and Daniil Kvyat (Toro Rosso), plus Kamui Kobayashi (Caterham) returns after a year driving for Ferrari's WEC team.

Mark Webber retired from F1 racing to join Porsche's sports car program, and Paul di Resta, Charles Pic and Giedo van der Garde lost their rides.

The biggest move of the off-season was Kimi Räikkönen moving to Ferrari.
Felipe Massa moved to Williams.
Pastor Maldonado moved to Lotus.
Sergio Pérez moved to Force India.
Daniel Ricciardo moved to Red Bull.
Nico Hülkenberg (Force India) and Adrian Sutil (Sauber) swapped seats.
Only Mercedes and Marussia retain the same driver line-up as last year.


F1 Season Review

F1 2014 Results
17United StatesRosbergHamiltonRosbergRicciardo
19Abu DhabiRosbergHamiltonMassaBottas


All feedback is welcome! I probably won't add any functionality to this page anymore, but maybe I'll revisit it in the future...

Enthusiast F1 Links

F1 Fanatic
Clip The Apex
Badger GP

Official F1 and Major Media Links

Yahoo / EuroSport

F1 Team Web Sites

Red Bull Racing
McLaren Honda
Scuderia Ferrari
Mercedes AMG Petronas F1
Lotus F1 Team
Sahara Force India F1 Team
Sauber F1 Team
Scuderia Toro Rosso
Williams F1 Team
Manor Marussia F1 Team