F1 Driver Results Table 2013

Season:   2015    2014    2013    2012    2011    2010    2009    2008    2007    2006  

Click on a race column header to sort by the results of that race. Positions in red indicate "not classified" (did not finish 90% of the race distance).

01397Sebastian Vettel1Red Bull31414212113111111111
02242Fernando Alonso3Ferrari222181723452226411553
03199Mark Webber2Red Bull62207534274531521220232
04189Lewis Hamilton10Mercedes533512434513955206749
05183Kimi Räikkönen7Lotus172221095222111325722
06171Nico Rosberg9Mercedes2041996151919464782395
07132Romain Grosjean8Lotus10693221713193688213334222
08112Felipe Massa4Ferrari456153218622874691048127
0973Jenson Button5McLaren917510861213676107891412104
1051Nico Hülkenberg11Sauber2281012151121101011135946191468
1149Sergio Pérez6McLaren1191169161120891112810155976
1248Paul di Resta14Force India82184797911182022202211861511
1329Adrian Sutil15Force India720211313510713229161020149102213
1420Daniel Ricciardo19Toro Rosso19187161018158121310722191310161110
1513Jean-Éric Vergne18Toro Rosso121012222086222012122114181213171615
166Esteban Gutiérrez12Sauber1312221811132014142114131211715131312
174Valtteri Bottas17Williams1411131416121412162015151312171615821
181Pastor Maldonado16Williams21191411142016111510171411131612111716
0Charles Pic20Caterham16141617172218151715221719141821192020
0Giedo van der Garde21Caterham18151821211522181814161816152122181918
0Heikki Kovalainen7Lotus1414
0Jules Bianchi22Marussia15131519181917162116181918162218201817
0Max Chilton23Marussia17161720191419171917192017171917212119

Formula One Points Systems

In its 60-year history, Formula One has seen six different points structures, and for many years the championship also discarded several of a driver's lowest results, presumably to mitigate the damage of getting a couple of DNFs during the season. Here is the list of F1 points scoring systems.

In recent years the points structure has changed to award points to more than the traditional top six finishers—first switching to a top eight structure, and now to a top ten structure. This helps to create some points separation between mid-pack and backmarker teams.

The other significant change between points structures is the changing of the value of a race win relative to second place:

Era1st Place2nd Place% of 1st
1950 to 19608 pts6 pts75%
1961 to 19909 pts6 pts67%
1991 to 200210 pts6 pts60%
2003 to 200910 pts8 pts80%
201025 pts18 pts72%

From 1991 to 2002 the value of a win was at its greatest, when the 2nd place finisher received only 60% of the points awarded to the winner. This encouraged drivers to fight for the win, because a driver with several wins and a few DNFs could score higher than a driver who always finished strong but never won a race.

From 2003 to 2009 the value of a win was at its lowest, when the 2nd place finisher received 80% of the points awarded to the winner. This encouraged less risky driving because a steady record of high points finishes was better than risking a DNF by driving aggressively for the win.

Starting in 2010, the value of a win was increased again, with the 2nd place finisher getting 72% of the points of the winner.

The links at the top of the page allow you to compare the current season's point structure to the 2003-2009 era (when the value of a win was at its lowest) and the 1991-2002 era (when the value of a win was at its highest). Note that the 'P' column always shows the current season ranking, so you can easily see where the order gets flipped around under a previous points structure.


F1 Driver Progression Chart 2013

Season:   2015    2014    2013    2012    2011    2010    2009    2008    2007    2006  

Hover your mouse over the points in the chart for details. Click on the menu below to see the championship standings after each race.


F1 Season Review 2013

Read the 2013 F1 Season Preview / Review. Click on the menu below to review each race.

The 2013 Formula One Season

F1 Season Review

F1 2013 Results
17Abu DhabiWebberVettelWebberRosberg
18United StatesVettelVettelGrosjeanWebber


All feedback is welcome! I probably won't add any functionality to this page anymore, but maybe I'll revisit it in the future...

Enthusiast F1 Links

F1 Fanatic
Clip The Apex
Badger GP

Official F1 and Major Media Links

Yahoo / EuroSport

F1 Team Web Sites

Red Bull Racing
McLaren Honda
Scuderia Ferrari
Mercedes AMG Petronas F1
Lotus F1 Team
Sahara Force India F1 Team
Sauber F1 Team
Scuderia Toro Rosso
Williams F1 Team
Manor Marussia F1 Team