F1 Driver Results Table 2012

Season:   2015    2014    2013    2012    2011    2010    2009    2008    2007    2006  

Calculated using the 2003-2009 points structure: 10-8-6-5-4-3-2-1 

Click on a race column header to sort by the results of that race. Positions in red indicate "not classified" (did not finish 90% of the race distance).

01115Sebastian Vettel1Red Bull8410355645810101010683
02114Fernando Alonso5Ferrari41028641081046668868
0382Kimi Räikkönen9Lotus248618468643342103
0474Lewis Hamilton4McLaren66611410110104510
0576Jenson Button3McLaren108183108545410
0671Mark Webber2Red Bull5555102510113865
0747Felipe Massa6Ferrari35451853256
0837Romain Grosjean10Lotus365836222
0936Nico Rosberg8Mercedes104283324
1026Sergio Pérez15Sauber18638
1121Nico Hülkenberg12Force India14523114
1221Kamui Kobayashi14Sauber34563
1317Michael Schumacher7Mercedes622232
1415Paul di Resta11Force India232215
1516Pastor Maldonado18Williams11014
168Bruno Senna19Williams3221
174Jean-Éric Vergne17Toro Rosso1111
180Daniel Ricciardo16Toro Rosso
0Pedro de la Rosa22HRT
0Narain Karthikeyan23HRT
0Heikki Kovalainen20Caterham
0Vitaly Petrov21Caterham
0Jérôme D'Ambrosio10Lotus
0Timo Glock24Marussia
0Charles Pic25Marussia

Formula One Points Systems

In its 60-year history, Formula One has seen six different points structures, and for many years the championship also discarded several of a driver's lowest results, presumably to mitigate the damage of getting a couple of DNFs during the season. Here is the list of F1 points scoring systems.

In recent years the points structure has changed to award points to more than the traditional top six finishers—first switching to a top eight structure, and now to a top ten structure. This helps to create some points separation between mid-pack and backmarker teams.

The other significant change between points structures is the changing of the value of a race win relative to second place:

Era1st Place2nd Place% of 1st
1950 to 19608 pts6 pts75%
1961 to 19909 pts6 pts67%
1991 to 200210 pts6 pts60%
2003 to 200910 pts8 pts80%
201025 pts18 pts72%

From 1991 to 2002 the value of a win was at its greatest, when the 2nd place finisher received only 60% of the points awarded to the winner. This encouraged drivers to fight for the win, because a driver with several wins and a few DNFs could score higher than a driver who always finished strong but never won a race.

From 2003 to 2009 the value of a win was at its lowest, when the 2nd place finisher received 80% of the points awarded to the winner. This encouraged less risky driving because a steady record of high points finishes was better than risking a DNF by driving aggressively for the win.

Starting in 2010, the value of a win was increased again, with the 2nd place finisher getting 72% of the points of the winner.

The links at the top of the page allow you to compare the current season's point structure to the 2003-2009 era (when the value of a win was at its lowest) and the 1991-2002 era (when the value of a win was at its highest). Note that the 'P' column always shows the current season ranking, so you can easily see where the order gets flipped around under a previous points structure.


F1 Driver Progression Chart 2012

Season:   2015    2014    2013    2012    2011    2010    2009    2008    2007    2006  

Calculated using the 2003-2009 points structure: 10-8-6-5-4-3-2-1 

Hover your mouse over the points in the chart for details. Click on the menu below to see the championship standings after each race.


F1 Season Review 2012

Read the 2012 F1 Season Preview / Review. Click on the menu below to review each race.

The 2012 Formula One Season

F1 Season Review

F1 Season Reviews from Various Sources

Formula1.com F1 Season Review (Part 1) and (Part 2)
F1 Fanatic
The Mirror (UK)

F1 2012 Results
18Abu DhabiHamiltonRäikkönenAlonsoVettel
19United StatesVettelHamiltonVettelAlonso


All feedback is welcome! I probably won't add any functionality to this page anymore, but maybe I'll revisit it in the future...

Enthusiast F1 Links

F1 Fanatic
Clip The Apex
Badger GP

Official F1 and Major Media Links

Yahoo / EuroSport

F1 Team Web Sites

Red Bull Racing
McLaren Honda
Scuderia Ferrari
Mercedes AMG Petronas F1
Lotus F1 Team
Sahara Force India F1 Team
Sauber F1 Team
Scuderia Toro Rosso
Williams F1 Team
Manor Marussia F1 Team