F1 Driver Results Table 2012

Season:   2015    2014    2013    2012    2011    2010    2009    2008    2007    2006  

Click on a race column header to sort by the results of that race. Positions in red indicate "not classified" (did not finish 90% of the race distance).

01281Sebastian Vettel1Red Bull21151644213542221111326
02278Fernando Alonso5Ferrari5197235121522332332232
03207Kimi Räikkönen9Lotus7514239825323566571610
04190Lewis Hamilton4McLaren333885119824123124510421120
05188Jenson Button3McLaren114218916168102612324245451
06179Mark Webber2Red Bull4444111741886201192320234
07122Felipe Massa6Ferrari171513915610164129548246743
0896Romain Grosjean10Lotus2124634242206183247197919721
0993Nico Rosberg8Mercedes12131572661510101175242311231315
1066Sergio Pérez15Sauber8211112011392261421210221124151124
1163Nico Hülkenberg12Force India229151210812512911421147682485
1260Kamui Kobayashi14Sauber62310135219221141813913322146149
1349Michael Schumacher7Mercedes2010241024192237724762111132211167
1446Paul di Resta11Force India107126147117231112108412121291519
1545Pastor Maldonado18Williams13198231231312161513201122814165922
1631Bruno Senna19Williams16672223101710917712101814151081023
1716Jean-Éric Vergne17Toro Rosso118161412121523141416824201381512248
1810Daniel Ricciardo16Toro Rosso912171513171411131315912910913101213
0Pedro de la Rosa22HRT21212019222317202122181817182123172117
0Narain Karthikeyan23HRT22222122152418212323191923212021222218
0Heikki Kovalainen20Caterham1818231716131814171917171415151718131814
0Vitaly Petrov21Caterham19161816172019131619141519171617161711
0Jérôme D'Ambrosio10Lotus13
0Timo Glock24Marussia14171919181421182221151712161820141916
0Charles Pic25Marussia1520202421182015192020161616201919182012

Formula One Points Systems

In its 60-year history, Formula One has seen six different points structures, and for many years the championship also discarded several of a driver's lowest results, presumably to mitigate the damage of getting a couple of DNFs during the season. Here is the list of F1 points scoring systems.

In recent years the points structure has changed to award points to more than the traditional top six finishers—first switching to a top eight structure, and now to a top ten structure. This helps to create some points separation between mid-pack and backmarker teams.

The other significant change between points structures is the changing of the value of a race win relative to second place:

Era1st Place2nd Place% of 1st
1950 to 19608 pts6 pts75%
1961 to 19909 pts6 pts67%
1991 to 200210 pts6 pts60%
2003 to 200910 pts8 pts80%
201025 pts18 pts72%

From 1991 to 2002 the value of a win was at its greatest, when the 2nd place finisher received only 60% of the points awarded to the winner. This encouraged drivers to fight for the win, because a driver with several wins and a few DNFs could score higher than a driver who always finished strong but never won a race.

From 2003 to 2009 the value of a win was at its lowest, when the 2nd place finisher received 80% of the points awarded to the winner. This encouraged less risky driving because a steady record of high points finishes was better than risking a DNF by driving aggressively for the win.

Starting in 2010, the value of a win was increased again, with the 2nd place finisher getting 72% of the points of the winner.

The links at the top of the page allow you to compare the current season's point structure to the 2003-2009 era (when the value of a win was at its lowest) and the 1991-2002 era (when the value of a win was at its highest). Note that the 'P' column always shows the current season ranking, so you can easily see where the order gets flipped around under a previous points structure.


F1 Driver Progression Chart 2012

Season:   2015    2014    2013    2012    2011    2010    2009    2008    2007    2006  

Hover your mouse over the points in the chart for details. Click on the menu below to see the championship standings after each race.


F1 Season Review 2012

Read the 2012 F1 Season Preview / Review. Click on the menu below to review each race.

The 2012 Formula One Season

F1 Season Review

F1 Season Reviews from Various Sources

Formula1.com F1 Season Review (Part 1) and (Part 2)
F1 Fanatic
The Mirror (UK)

F1 2012 Results
18Abu DhabiHamiltonRäikkönenAlonsoVettel
19United StatesVettelHamiltonVettelAlonso


All feedback is welcome! I probably won't add any functionality to this page anymore, but maybe I'll revisit it in the future...

Enthusiast F1 Links

F1 Fanatic
Clip The Apex
Badger GP

Official F1 and Major Media Links

Yahoo / EuroSport

F1 Team Web Sites

Red Bull Racing
McLaren Honda
Scuderia Ferrari
Mercedes AMG Petronas F1
Lotus F1 Team
Sahara Force India F1 Team
Sauber F1 Team
Scuderia Toro Rosso
Williams F1 Team
Manor Marussia F1 Team