F1 Driver Results Table 2011

Season:   2015    2014    2013    2012    2011    2010    2009    2008    2007    2006  

2010 points structure: 25-18-15-12-10-8-6-4-2-1 

Click on a race column header to sort by the results of that race. Positions in red indicate "not classified" (did not finish 90% of the race distance).

01392Sebastian Vettel1Red Bull252518252525182518121825252515252518
02270Jenson Button4McLaren8181281515258251518182512181515
03258Mark Webber2Red Bull101215181212151515151018151215121225
04257Fernando Alonso5Ferrari1286151018182518151215121810151812
05227Lewis Hamilton3McLaren18425121881212251212101018625
06118Felipe Massa6Ferrari610881010108482681010
0789Nico Rosberg8Mercedes1010668628614886
0876Michael Schumacher7Mercedes248122410108106
0942Adrian Sutil14Force India262864248
1037Vitaly Petrov10L. Renault1524101221
1134Nick Heidfeld9L. Renault1564414
1230Kamui Kobayashi16Sauber6111106212
1327Paul di Resta15Force India11648124
1426Jaime Alguersuari19Toro Rosso4411664
1515Sébastien Buemi18Toro Rosso4211412
1614Sergio Pérez17Sauber26141
174Rubens Barrichello11Williams22
182Bruno Senna9L. Renault2
191Pastor Maldonado12Williams1
0Pedro de la Rosa17Sauber
0Narain Karthikeyan22HRT
0Vitantonio Liuzzi23HRT
0Daniel Ricciardo22HRT
0Timo Glock24Virgin
0Jérôme D'Ambrosio25Virgin
0Jarno Trulli20Lotus
0Karun Chandhok20Lotus
0Heikki Kovalainen21Lotus

Formula One Points Systems

In its 60-year history, Formula One has seen six different points structures, and for many years the championship also discarded several of a driver's lowest results, presumably to mitigate the damage of getting a couple of DNFs during the season. Here is the list of F1 points scoring systems.

In recent years the points structure has changed to award points to more than the traditional top six finishers—first switching to a top eight structure, and now to a top ten structure. This helps to create some points separation between mid-pack and backmarker teams.

The other significant change between points structures is the changing of the value of a race win relative to second place:

Era1st Place2nd Place% of 1st
1950 to 19608 pts6 pts75%
1961 to 19909 pts6 pts67%
1991 to 200210 pts6 pts60%
2003 to 200910 pts8 pts80%
201025 pts18 pts72%

From 1991 to 2002 the value of a win was at its greatest, when the 2nd place finisher received only 60% of the points awarded to the winner. This encouraged drivers to fight for the win, because a driver with several wins and a few DNFs could score higher than a driver who always finished strong but never won a race.

From 2003 to 2009 the value of a win was at its lowest, when the 2nd place finisher received 80% of the points awarded to the winner. This encouraged less risky driving because a steady record of high points finishes was better than risking a DNF by driving aggressively for the win.

Starting in 2010, the value of a win was increased again, with the 2nd place finisher getting 72% of the points of the winner.

The links at the top of the page allow you to compare the current season's point structure to the 2003-2009 era (when the value of a win was at its lowest) and the 1991-2002 era (when the value of a win was at its highest). Note that the 'P' column always shows the current season ranking, so you can easily see where the order gets flipped around under a previous points structure.


F1 Driver Progression Chart 2011

Season:   2015    2014    2013    2012    2011    2010    2009    2008    2007    2006  

2010 points structure: 25-18-15-12-10-8-6-4-2-1 

Hover your mouse over the points in the chart for details. Click on the menu below to see the championship standings after each race.


F1 Season Review 2011

Read the 2011 F1 Season Preview / Review. Click on the menu below to review each race.

The 2011 Formula One Season

F1 Season Preview

Another season of big technical changes, and political controversy.

New Tire Supplier: Pirelli

Drag Reduction System (DRS)

The Return of KERS

New Drivers

Robert Kubica

New Event

F1 Season Review

F1 2011 Results
18Abu DhabiVettelHamiltonAlonsoButton

Season Results

Well that was a disappointing season. Unlike 2010—when going into the last race, four drivers had a mathematical chance of winning the championship—this season was seemingly settled halfway through the schedule. Sebastian Vettel just slaughtered the field, winning over half the races and leading the championship the whole season. Mark Webber was a disappointment as he drove the same Red Bull as Vettel, but the best he could do was mix it up with Jenson Button, Fernando Alonso, and Lewis Hamilton in the race for P2 in the championship. Alonso burnished his reputation as he maximized his Ferrari's potential, while Hamilton and Felipe Massa were a bit of a disappointment. Michael Schumacher did OK as he scored closer to teammate Nico Rosberg than he did last year.

Adrian Sutil and Force India was "Best of the Rest," as he had the highest score after the drivers for the top four teams. Nick Heidfeld with Renault was a strange case, as he had scored more points than his teammate Vitaly Petrov when he was replaced after the Hungarian Grand Prix. His replacement Bruno Senna scored only 2 points by the end of the year, and Petrov ultimately only outscored Heidfeld 37 to 34, despite starting eight more races than Heidfeld. So it appeared that sponsorship money that Senna brought to the Renault team was probably a bigger factor than Heidfeld's performance.

Kamui Kobayashi and Sauber scored the bulk of their points in the first half of the season—a strong indication that the small-budget team could not keep up with the pace of development. Toro Rosso had a low-key season as well, but Williams was a huge disappointment as they could only manage to score five points to secure their place at the back of the "mid-pack" teams.

For the second year, Lotus, Virgin, and HRT were the only teams to score no points. Lotus was a step above the other two teams, but not good enough to challenge the mid-pack teams.


All feedback is welcome! I probably won't add any functionality to this page anymore, but maybe I'll revisit it in the future...

Enthusiast F1 Links

F1 Fanatic
Clip The Apex
Badger GP

Official F1 and Major Media Links

Yahoo / EuroSport

F1 Team Web Sites

Red Bull Racing
McLaren Honda
Scuderia Ferrari
Mercedes AMG Petronas F1
Lotus F1 Team
Sahara Force India F1 Team
Sauber F1 Team
Scuderia Toro Rosso
Williams F1 Team
Manor Marussia F1 Team