F1 Driver Results Table 2009

Season:   2015    2014    2013    2012    2011    2010    2009    2008    2007    2006  

Calculated using the 2010 points structure: 25-18-15-12-10-8-6-4-2-1 

Click on a race column header to sort by the results of that race. Positions in red indicate "not classified" (did not finish 90% of the race distance).

01239.5Jenson Button22Brawn2512.5152525252581066181041015
02206Sebastian Vettel15Red Bull25181215251815412251225
03191Rubens Barrichello23Brawn1851210181815812562586412
04170Mark Webber14Red Bull418151018182515222518
05123Lewis Hamilton1McLaren381222518251515
06124Kimi Räikkönen4Ferrari181524181525151128
0794Nico Rosberg16Williams8224810101212104102
0882Jarno Trulli9Toyota156151264186
0973Fernando Alonso7Renault102410616810151
1068.5Timo Glock10Toyota127.566114228118
1156Felipe Massa3Ferrari181281215
1258Heikki Kovalainen2McLaren1041012886
1351Nick Heidfeld6BMW Sauber1961106810
1447Robert Kubica5BMW Sauber641242181
1524Giancarlo Fisichella21/3F.India/Ferr.211821
1620Sébastien Buemi12Toro Rosso6464
1715Adrian Sutil20Force India2112
1810Kamui Kobayashi10Toyota28
198.5Sébastien Bourdais11Toro Rosso40.54
0Luca Badoer3Ferrari
1Nelson Piquet Jr.8Renault1
0Romain Grosjean8Renault
0Jaime Alguersuari11Toro Rosso
0Vitantonio Liuzzi21Force India
5Kazuki Nakajima17Williams212

Formula One Points Systems

In its 60-year history, Formula One has seen six different points structures, and for many years the championship also discarded several of a driver's lowest results, presumably to mitigate the damage of getting a couple of DNFs during the season. Here is the list of F1 points scoring systems.

In recent years the points structure has changed to award points to more than the traditional top six finishers—first switching to a top eight structure, and now to a top ten structure. This helps to create some points separation between mid-pack and backmarker teams.

The other significant change between points structures is the changing of the value of a race win relative to second place:

Era1st Place2nd Place% of 1st
1950 to 19608 pts6 pts75%
1961 to 19909 pts6 pts67%
1991 to 200210 pts6 pts60%
2003 to 200910 pts8 pts80%
201025 pts18 pts72%

From 1991 to 2002 the value of a win was at its greatest, when the 2nd place finisher received only 60% of the points awarded to the winner. This encouraged drivers to fight for the win, because a driver with several wins and a few DNFs could score higher than a driver who always finished strong but never won a race.

From 2003 to 2009 the value of a win was at its lowest, when the 2nd place finisher received 80% of the points awarded to the winner. This encouraged less risky driving because a steady record of high points finishes was better than risking a DNF by driving aggressively for the win.

Starting in 2010, the value of a win was increased again, with the 2nd place finisher getting 72% of the points of the winner.

The links at the top of the page allow you to compare the current season's point structure to the 2003-2009 era (when the value of a win was at its lowest) and the 1991-2002 era (when the value of a win was at its highest). Note that the 'P' column always shows the current season ranking, so you can easily see where the order gets flipped around under a previous points structure.


F1 Driver Progression Chart 2009

Season:   2015    2014    2013    2012    2011    2010    2009    2008    2007    2006  

Calculated using the 2010 points structure: 25-18-15-12-10-8-6-4-2-1 

Hover your mouse over the points in the chart for details. Click on the menu below to see the championship standings after each race.


F1 Season Review 2009


The 2009 Formula One Season

F1 Season Review

The 2009 F1 season was the dawn of a new era as several significant technical changes promised to shake up the status quo. For a detailed preview of the season, check out the Formula1.com preview, Part 1, Part 2, and Part 3.

The big story of the 2009 season actually started the year before. Honda had an abysmal 2008 season, with just four points-scoring finishes between drivers Jenson Button and Rubens Barrichello. The rumor is that Honda gave up on the season early to get an early start on the 2009 car—and in fact, all of their points came in the first half of the season. By the end of the season, the economic climate (and perhaps their failure to reach the elite level of F1) led to Honda withdrawing from Formula One. However in effort to keep their employees working, they made it exceptionally easy for Ross Brawn to buy the team, and Honda bankrolled the team through the transition. The new Brawn team signed up for Mercedes power, and shockingly Jenson Button absolutely dominated the first half of the season—winning six of the first nine races. The other surprise was Red Bull, who won the other three races. Red Bull was fast from the beginning but made numerous mistakes, allowing Button to accumlate a huge lead in the first nine races.

Actually after Race 7 in Turkey, Button had a string of mediocre races, and didn't win another race the rest of the season. It appeared that he was driving conservatively with the hope of just scoring points in each race to safely ease up to the championship. While the other teams did improve in the second half of the season, Barrichello won two races—so Brawn still had a competitive package. In the end of course Button did hang on to win the driver's championship.

Next to Button's first championship, the other revelation of the season was Vettel's rise to championship contender. Vettel was hugely impressive the previous year with Toro Rosso, giving them their first win at a wet Italian Grand Prix. He continued his rise in 2009 with a strong P2 in the driver's championship.

For a more detailed review of the 2009 season check out the Formula1.com review, Part 1, Part 2, and Part 3.

F1 Season Review

F1 2009 Results
17Abu DhabiHamiltonVettelWebberButton


All feedback is welcome! I probably won't add any functionality to this page anymore, but maybe I'll revisit it in the future...

Enthusiast F1 Links

F1 Fanatic
Clip The Apex
Badger GP

Official F1 and Major Media Links

Yahoo / EuroSport

F1 Team Web Sites

Red Bull Racing
McLaren Honda
Scuderia Ferrari
Mercedes AMG Petronas F1
Lotus F1 Team
Sahara Force India F1 Team
Sauber F1 Team
Scuderia Toro Rosso
Williams F1 Team
Manor Marussia F1 Team