F1 Driver Results Table 2008

Season:   2015    2014    2013    2012    2011    2010    2009    2008    2007    2006  

Calculated using the 2010 points structure: 25-18-15-12-10-8-6-4-2-1 

Click on a race column header to sort by the results of that race. Positions in red indicate "not classified" (did not finish 90% of the race distance).

01243Lewis Hamilton22McLaren2510151825125251018156152510
02240Felipe Massa2Ferrari251825151025152525861825
03189Kimi Räikkönen1Ferrari425182515218128152151515
04184Robert Kubica4BMW Sauber181512121825106415815188
05154Fernando Alonso5Renault1241814812121225251218
06150Nick Heidfeld3BMW Sauber1881221018181212181082101
07136Heikki Kovalainen23McLaren10151042121010251211816
0893Sebastian Vettel15Toro Rosso104481025108212
0986Jarno Trulli11Toyota1284181562610104
1066Timo Glock12Toyota21218621268
1165Mark Webber10Red Bull66106128124442
1249Nelson Piquet Jr.6Renault61881124
1349Nico Rosberg7Williams1544121418
1429Rubens Barrichello17Honda8615
1528Kazuki Nakajima8Williams86644
1628David Coulthard9Red Bull2215261
1714Sébastien Bourdais14Toro Rosso6161
1811Jenson Button16Honda182
1Giancarlo Fisichella21Force India1
0Adrian Sutil20Force India
0Takuma Sato18Super Aguri
0Anthony Davidson19Super Aguri

Formula One Points Systems

In its 60-year history, Formula One has seen six different points structures, and for many years the championship also discarded several of a driver's lowest results, presumably to mitigate the damage of getting a couple of DNFs during the season. Here is the list of F1 points scoring systems.

In recent years the points structure has changed to award points to more than the traditional top six finishers—first switching to a top eight structure, and now to a top ten structure. This helps to create some points separation between mid-pack and backmarker teams.

The other significant change between points structures is the changing of the value of a race win relative to second place:

Era1st Place2nd Place% of 1st
1950 to 19608 pts6 pts75%
1961 to 19909 pts6 pts67%
1991 to 200210 pts6 pts60%
2003 to 200910 pts8 pts80%
201025 pts18 pts72%

From 1991 to 2002 the value of a win was at its greatest, when the 2nd place finisher received only 60% of the points awarded to the winner. This encouraged drivers to fight for the win, because a driver with several wins and a few DNFs could score higher than a driver who always finished strong but never won a race.

From 2003 to 2009 the value of a win was at its lowest, when the 2nd place finisher received 80% of the points awarded to the winner. This encouraged less risky driving because a steady record of high points finishes was better than risking a DNF by driving aggressively for the win.

Starting in 2010, the value of a win was increased again, with the 2nd place finisher getting 72% of the points of the winner.

The links at the top of the page allow you to compare the current season's point structure to the 2003-2009 era (when the value of a win was at its lowest) and the 1991-2002 era (when the value of a win was at its highest). Note that the 'P' column always shows the current season ranking, so you can easily see where the order gets flipped around under a previous points structure.


F1 Driver Progression Chart 2008

Season:   2015    2014    2013    2012    2011    2010    2009    2008    2007    2006  

Calculated using the 2010 points structure: 25-18-15-12-10-8-6-4-2-1 

Hover your mouse over the points in the chart for details. Click on the menu below to see the championship standings after each race.


F1 Season Review 2008


The 2008 Formula One Season

F1 Season Review

For a detailed look at the 2008 Formula One season, check out the
Autosport.com 2008 F1 Season at a Glance.

F1 Season Review

F1 2008 Results
10GermanyHamiltonHamiltonPiquet Jr.Massa


All feedback is welcome! I probably won't add any functionality to this page anymore, but maybe I'll revisit it in the future...

Enthusiast F1 Links

F1 Fanatic
Clip The Apex
Badger GP

Official F1 and Major Media Links

Yahoo / EuroSport

F1 Team Web Sites

Red Bull Racing
McLaren Honda
Scuderia Ferrari
Mercedes AMG Petronas F1
Lotus F1 Team
Sahara Force India F1 Team
Sauber F1 Team
Scuderia Toro Rosso
Williams F1 Team
Manor Marussia F1 Team