F1 Driver Results Table 2008

Season:   2015    2014    2013    2012    2011    2010    2009    2008    2007    2006  

2003-2009 points structure: 10-8-6-5-4-3-2-1 

Click on a race column header to sort by the results of that race. Positions in red indicate "not classified" (did not finish 90% of the race distance).

0198Lewis Hamilton22McLaren1046810101048626104
0297Felipe Massa2Ferrari1081064106101032810
0375Kimi Räikkönen1Ferrari11081068536666
0475Robert Kubica4BMW Sauber865581042163683
0561Fernando Alonso5Renault51313555101058
0660Nick Heidfeld3BMW Sauber83548858434
0753Heikki Kovalainen23McLaren464154410582
0835Sebastian Vettel15Toro Rosso4113410435
0931Jarno Trulli11Toyota5313622441
1025Timo Glock12Toyota582523
1121Mark Webber10Red Bull224253111
1219Nelson Piquet Jr.6Renault28351
1317Nico Rosberg7Williams61118
1411Rubens Barrichello17Honda326
159Kazuki Nakajima8Williams32211
168David Coulthard9Red Bull62
174Sébastien Bourdais14Toro Rosso22
183Jenson Button16Honda3
0Giancarlo Fisichella21Force India
0Adrian Sutil20Force India
0Takuma Sato18Super Aguri
0Anthony Davidson19Super Aguri

Formula One Points Systems

In its 60-year history, Formula One has seen six different points structures, and for many years the championship also discarded several of a driver's lowest results, presumably to mitigate the damage of getting a couple of DNFs during the season. Here is the list of F1 points scoring systems.

In recent years the points structure has changed to award points to more than the traditional top six finishers—first switching to a top eight structure, and now to a top ten structure. This helps to create some points separation between mid-pack and backmarker teams.

The other significant change between points structures is the changing of the value of a race win relative to second place:

Era1st Place2nd Place% of 1st
1950 to 19608 pts6 pts75%
1961 to 19909 pts6 pts67%
1991 to 200210 pts6 pts60%
2003 to 200910 pts8 pts80%
201025 pts18 pts72%

From 1991 to 2002 the value of a win was at its greatest, when the 2nd place finisher received only 60% of the points awarded to the winner. This encouraged drivers to fight for the win, because a driver with several wins and a few DNFs could score higher than a driver who always finished strong but never won a race.

From 2003 to 2009 the value of a win was at its lowest, when the 2nd place finisher received 80% of the points awarded to the winner. This encouraged less risky driving because a steady record of high points finishes was better than risking a DNF by driving aggressively for the win.

Starting in 2010, the value of a win was increased again, with the 2nd place finisher getting 72% of the points of the winner.

The links at the top of the page allow you to compare the current season's point structure to the 2003-2009 era (when the value of a win was at its lowest) and the 1991-2002 era (when the value of a win was at its highest). Note that the 'P' column always shows the current season ranking, so you can easily see where the order gets flipped around under a previous points structure.


F1 Driver Progression Chart 2008

Season:   2015    2014    2013    2012    2011    2010    2009    2008    2007    2006  

2003-2009 points structure: 10-8-6-5-4-3-2-1 

Hover your mouse over the points in the chart for details. Click on the menu below to see the championship standings after each race.


F1 Season Review 2008


The 2008 Formula One Season

F1 Season Review

For a detailed look at the 2008 Formula One season, check out the
Autosport.com 2008 F1 Season at a Glance.

F1 Season Review

F1 2008 Results
10GermanyHamiltonHamiltonPiquet Jr.Massa


All feedback is welcome! I probably won't add any functionality to this page anymore, but maybe I'll revisit it in the future...

Enthusiast F1 Links

F1 Fanatic
Clip The Apex
Badger GP

Official F1 and Major Media Links

Yahoo / EuroSport

F1 Team Web Sites

Red Bull Racing
McLaren Honda
Scuderia Ferrari
Mercedes AMG Petronas F1
Lotus F1 Team
Sahara Force India F1 Team
Sauber F1 Team
Scuderia Toro Rosso
Williams F1 Team
Manor Marussia F1 Team