F1 Driver Results Table 2008

Season:   2015    2014    2013    2012    2011    2010    2009    2008    2007    2006  

Click on a race column header to sort by the results of that race. Positions in red indicate "not classified" (did not finish 90% of the race distance).

0198Lewis Hamilton22McLaren1513321191011523731215
0297Felipe Massa2Ferrari13191213511331711613721
0375Kimi Räikkönen1Ferrari8121391824631818915333
0475Robert Kubica4BMW Sauber923442151478363112611
0561Fernando Alonso5Renault481015610168611420441142
0660Nick Heidfeld3BMW Sauber2649514213241092569510
0753Heikki Kovalainen23McLaren535171289455141021017187
0835Sebastian Vettel15Toro Rosso20182222175812198206515694
0931Jarno Trulli11Toyota1546810136379751613165208
1025Timo Glock12Toyota1021911131241112202791141976
1121Mark Webber10Red Bull1777574126101991288188149
1219Nelson Piquet Jr.6Renault1211202015171771626112010204819
1317Nico Rosberg7Williams314814816101691014812142111512
1411Rubens Barrichello17Honda1311161467143181616191719131115
159Kazuki Nakajima8Williams6171471971515814131514128151217
168David Coulthard9Red Bull1491812919392013111711167201020
174Sébastien Bourdais14Toro Rosso7221519182013171112181071812101314
183Jenson Button16Honda1810216111111201517121315159141613
0Giancarlo Fisichella21Force India211212102018141817161514172014161718
0Adrian Sutil20Force India162019211615201918151919131917181916
0Takuma Sato18Super Aguri11161713
0Anthony Davidson19Super Aguri19151618

Formula One Points Systems

In its 60-year history, Formula One has seen six different points structures, and for many years the championship also discarded several of a driver's lowest results, presumably to mitigate the damage of getting a couple of DNFs during the season. Here is the list of F1 points scoring systems.

In recent years the points structure has changed to award points to more than the traditional top six finishers—first switching to a top eight structure, and now to a top ten structure. This helps to create some points separation between mid-pack and backmarker teams.

The other significant change between points structures is the changing of the value of a race win relative to second place:

Era1st Place2nd Place% of 1st
1950 to 19608 pts6 pts75%
1961 to 19909 pts6 pts67%
1991 to 200210 pts6 pts60%
2003 to 200910 pts8 pts80%
201025 pts18 pts72%

From 1991 to 2002 the value of a win was at its greatest, when the 2nd place finisher received only 60% of the points awarded to the winner. This encouraged drivers to fight for the win, because a driver with several wins and a few DNFs could score higher than a driver who always finished strong but never won a race.

From 2003 to 2009 the value of a win was at its lowest, when the 2nd place finisher received 80% of the points awarded to the winner. This encouraged less risky driving because a steady record of high points finishes was better than risking a DNF by driving aggressively for the win.

Starting in 2010, the value of a win was increased again, with the 2nd place finisher getting 72% of the points of the winner.

The links at the top of the page allow you to compare the current season's point structure to the 2003-2009 era (when the value of a win was at its lowest) and the 1991-2002 era (when the value of a win was at its highest). Note that the 'P' column always shows the current season ranking, so you can easily see where the order gets flipped around under a previous points structure.


F1 Driver Progression Chart 2008

Season:   2015    2014    2013    2012    2011    2010    2009    2008    2007    2006  

Hover your mouse over the points in the chart for details. Click on the menu below to see the championship standings after each race.


F1 Season Review 2008


The 2008 Formula One Season

F1 Season Review

For a detailed look at the 2008 Formula One season, check out the
Autosport.com 2008 F1 Season at a Glance.

F1 Season Review

F1 2008 Results
10GermanyHamiltonHamiltonPiquet Jr.Massa


All feedback is welcome! I probably won't add any functionality to this page anymore, but maybe I'll revisit it in the future...

Enthusiast F1 Links

F1 Fanatic
Clip The Apex
Badger GP

Official F1 and Major Media Links

Yahoo / EuroSport

F1 Team Web Sites

Red Bull Racing
McLaren Honda
Scuderia Ferrari
Mercedes AMG Petronas F1
Lotus F1 Team
Sahara Force India F1 Team
Sauber F1 Team
Scuderia Toro Rosso
Williams F1 Team
Manor Marussia F1 Team