F1 Driver Results Table 2006

Season:   2015    2014    2013    2012    2011    2010    2009    2008    2007    2006  

Calculated using the 2010 points structure: 25-18-15-12-10-8-6-4-2-1 

Click on a race column header to sort by the results of that race. Positions in red indicate "not classified" (did not finish 90% of the race distance).

01321Fernando Alonso1Renault25182518182525252510181018182518
02296Michael Schumacher5Ferrari188252518101818252525415252512
03200Felipe Massa6Ferrari2101215122101018151862521825
04183Giancarlo Fisichella2Renault2510481581212158881215158
05158Kimi Räikkönen3McLaren151810121015151015181010
06142Jenson Button12Honda1215168212251210121215
0783Rubens Barrichello11Honda1611061218124886
0863Juan Pablo Montoya4McLaren101215188
0968Nick Heidfeld16BMW Sauber1214666415464
1059Ralf Schumacher7Toyota41524122866
1148Pedro de la Rosa4McLaren61810104
1247Jarno Trulli8Toyota2218126268
1344David Coulthard14Red Bull1415462102
1422Jacques Villeneuve17BMW Sauber6844
1524Mark Webber9Williams882114
1619Robert Kubica17BMW Sauber1522
1717Nico Rosberg10Williams66221
188Christian Klien15Red Bull44
197Vitantonio Liuzzi20Toro Rosso1411
0Robert Doornbos15Red Bull
4Scott Speed21Toro Rosso211
1Takuma Sato22Super Aguri1
0Sakon Yamamoto23Super Aguri
0Franck Montagny23Super Aguri
0Yuji Ide23Super Aguri
2Tiago Monteiro18Midland2
1Christijan Albers19Midland1

Formula One Points Systems

In its 60-year history, Formula One has seen six different points structures, and for many years the championship also discarded several of a driver's lowest results, presumably to mitigate the damage of getting a couple of DNFs during the season. Here is the list of F1 points scoring systems.

In recent years the points structure has changed to award points to more than the traditional top six finishers—first switching to a top eight structure, and now to a top ten structure. This helps to create some points separation between mid-pack and backmarker teams.

The other significant change between points structures is the changing of the value of a race win relative to second place:

Era1st Place2nd Place% of 1st
1950 to 19608 pts6 pts75%
1961 to 19909 pts6 pts67%
1991 to 200210 pts6 pts60%
2003 to 200910 pts8 pts80%
201025 pts18 pts72%

From 1991 to 2002 the value of a win was at its greatest, when the 2nd place finisher received only 60% of the points awarded to the winner. This encouraged drivers to fight for the win, because a driver with several wins and a few DNFs could score higher than a driver who always finished strong but never won a race.

From 2003 to 2009 the value of a win was at its lowest, when the 2nd place finisher received 80% of the points awarded to the winner. This encouraged less risky driving because a steady record of high points finishes was better than risking a DNF by driving aggressively for the win.

Starting in 2010, the value of a win was increased again, with the 2nd place finisher getting 72% of the points of the winner.

The links at the top of the page allow you to compare the current season's point structure to the 2003-2009 era (when the value of a win was at its lowest) and the 1991-2002 era (when the value of a win was at its highest). Note that the 'P' column always shows the current season ranking, so you can easily see where the order gets flipped around under a previous points structure.


F1 Driver Progression Chart 2006

Season:   2015    2014    2013    2012    2011    2010    2009    2008    2007    2006  

Calculated using the 2010 points structure: 25-18-15-12-10-8-6-4-2-1 

Hover your mouse over the points in the chart for details. Click on the menu below to see the championship standings after each race.


F1 Season Review 2006


The 2006 Formula One Season

F1 Season Review

For a detailed look at the 2006 Formula One season, check out the
Autosport.com 2006 F1 Season at a Glance.

F1 Season Review

F1 2006 Results
3AustraliaButtonAlonsoRäikkönenR. Schumacher
4San MarinoSchumacherSchumacherAlonsoMontoya
10United StatesSchumacherSchumacherMassaFisichella
13HungaryRäikkönenButtonde la RosaHeidfeld


All feedback is welcome! I probably won't add any functionality to this page anymore, but maybe I'll revisit it in the future...

Enthusiast F1 Links

F1 Fanatic
Clip The Apex
Badger GP

Official F1 and Major Media Links

Yahoo / EuroSport

F1 Team Web Sites

Red Bull Racing
McLaren Honda
Scuderia Ferrari
Mercedes AMG Petronas F1
Lotus F1 Team
Sahara Force India F1 Team
Sauber F1 Team
Scuderia Toro Rosso
Williams F1 Team
Manor Marussia F1 Team