F1 Driver Results Table 2006

Season:   2015    2014    2013    2012    2011    2010    2009    2008    2007    2006  

2003-2009 points structure: 10-8-6-5-4-3-2-1 

Click on a race column header to sort by the results of that race. Positions in red indicate "not classified" (did not finish 90% of the race distance).

01134Fernando Alonso1Renault10810881010101048488108
02121Michael Schumacher5Ferrari83101084881010101610105
0380Felipe Massa6Ferrari456544868210810
0472Giancarlo Fisichella2Renault10413635563335663
0565Kimi Räikkönen3McLaren684546646844
0656Jenson Button12Honda562351054556
0730Rubens Barrichello11Honda2425351332
0826Juan Pablo Montoya4McLaren45683
0923Nick Heidfeld16BMW Sauber5122216121
1020Ralf Schumacher7Toyota1615322
1119Pedro de la Rosa4McLaren28441
1215Jarno Trulli8Toyota35223
1314David Coulthard14Red Bull16124
147Jacques Villeneuve17BMW Sauber2311
157Mark Webber9Williams331
166Robert Kubica17BMW Sauber6
174Nico Rosberg10Williams22
182Christian Klien15Red Bull11
191Vitantonio Liuzzi20Toro Rosso1
0Robert Doornbos15Red Bull
0Scott Speed21Toro Rosso
0Takuma Sato22Super Aguri
0Sakon Yamamoto23Super Aguri
0Franck Montagny23Super Aguri
0Yuji Ide23Super Aguri
0Tiago Monteiro18Midland
0Christijan Albers19Midland

Formula One Points Systems

In its 60-year history, Formula One has seen six different points structures, and for many years the championship also discarded several of a driver's lowest results, presumably to mitigate the damage of getting a couple of DNFs during the season. Here is the list of F1 points scoring systems.

In recent years the points structure has changed to award points to more than the traditional top six finishers—first switching to a top eight structure, and now to a top ten structure. This helps to create some points separation between mid-pack and backmarker teams.

The other significant change between points structures is the changing of the value of a race win relative to second place:

Era1st Place2nd Place% of 1st
1950 to 19608 pts6 pts75%
1961 to 19909 pts6 pts67%
1991 to 200210 pts6 pts60%
2003 to 200910 pts8 pts80%
201025 pts18 pts72%

From 1991 to 2002 the value of a win was at its greatest, when the 2nd place finisher received only 60% of the points awarded to the winner. This encouraged drivers to fight for the win, because a driver with several wins and a few DNFs could score higher than a driver who always finished strong but never won a race.

From 2003 to 2009 the value of a win was at its lowest, when the 2nd place finisher received 80% of the points awarded to the winner. This encouraged less risky driving because a steady record of high points finishes was better than risking a DNF by driving aggressively for the win.

Starting in 2010, the value of a win was increased again, with the 2nd place finisher getting 72% of the points of the winner.

The links at the top of the page allow you to compare the current season's point structure to the 2003-2009 era (when the value of a win was at its lowest) and the 1991-2002 era (when the value of a win was at its highest). Note that the 'P' column always shows the current season ranking, so you can easily see where the order gets flipped around under a previous points structure.


F1 Driver Progression Chart 2006

Season:   2015    2014    2013    2012    2011    2010    2009    2008    2007    2006  

2003-2009 points structure: 10-8-6-5-4-3-2-1 

Hover your mouse over the points in the chart for details. Click on the menu below to see the championship standings after each race.


F1 Season Review 2006


The 2006 Formula One Season

F1 Season Review

For a detailed look at the 2006 Formula One season, check out the
Autosport.com 2006 F1 Season at a Glance.

F1 Season Review

F1 2006 Results
3AustraliaButtonAlonsoRäikkönenR. Schumacher
4San MarinoSchumacherSchumacherAlonsoMontoya
10United StatesSchumacherSchumacherMassaFisichella
13HungaryRäikkönenButtonde la RosaHeidfeld


All feedback is welcome! I probably won't add any functionality to this page anymore, but maybe I'll revisit it in the future...

Enthusiast F1 Links

F1 Fanatic
Clip The Apex
Badger GP

Official F1 and Major Media Links

Yahoo / EuroSport

F1 Team Web Sites

Red Bull Racing
McLaren Honda
Scuderia Ferrari
Mercedes AMG Petronas F1
Lotus F1 Team
Sahara Force India F1 Team
Sauber F1 Team
Scuderia Toro Rosso
Williams F1 Team
Manor Marussia F1 Team