F1 Driver Results Table 2006

Season:   2015    2014    2013    2012    2011    2010    2009    2008    2007    2006  

Click on a race column header to sort by the results of that race. Positions in red indicate "not classified" (did not finish 90% of the race distance).

01134Fernando Alonso1Renault12122111152514219212
02121Michael Schumacher5Ferrari26171125221118311204
0380Felipe Massa6Ferrari95224349552327191821
0472Giancarlo Fisichella2Renault21158636443661864336
0565Kimi Räikkönen3McLaren322254520331653152122155
0656Jenson Button12Honda431071861119915174145443
0730Rubens Barrichello11Honda15107105741019620164866127
0826Juan Pablo Montoya4McLaren541431521261818
0923Nick Heidfeld16BMW Sauber12154131087771781731487817
1020Ralf Schumacher7Toyota148391420821171049671517720
1119Pedro de la Rosa4McLaren71825205118
1215Jarno Trulli8Toyota1692021910171164197129719619
1314David Coulthard14Red Bull10208172114312879115151292118
147Jacques Villeneuve17BMW Sauber20761281214816121115
157Mark Webber9Williams61918620921221219181320101081921
166Robert Kubica17BMW Sauber1231399
174Nico Rosberg10Williams72121117111992191420171822111022
182Christian Klien15Red Bull8181919191318141121128191111
191Vitantonio Liuzzi20Toro Rosso11111614221510131381310162014101413
0Robert Doornbos15Red Bull121312
0Scott Speed21Toro Rosso13169151119132010201012111313141811
0Takuma Sato22Super Aguri1814121816172217151422141317161510
0Sakon Yamamoto23Super Aguri19211921161716
0Franck Montagny23Super Aguri17221618202216
0Yuji Ide23Super Aguri19171320
0Tiago Monteiro18Midland171315161216151614132192218201615
0Christijan Albers19Midland2212112213181215221115101617152214

Formula One Points Systems

In its 60-year history, Formula One has seen six different points structures, and for many years the championship also discarded several of a driver's lowest results, presumably to mitigate the damage of getting a couple of DNFs during the season. Here is the list of F1 points scoring systems.

In recent years the points structure has changed to award points to more than the traditional top six finishers—first switching to a top eight structure, and now to a top ten structure. This helps to create some points separation between mid-pack and backmarker teams.

The other significant change between points structures is the changing of the value of a race win relative to second place:

Era1st Place2nd Place% of 1st
1950 to 19608 pts6 pts75%
1961 to 19909 pts6 pts67%
1991 to 200210 pts6 pts60%
2003 to 200910 pts8 pts80%
201025 pts18 pts72%

From 1991 to 2002 the value of a win was at its greatest, when the 2nd place finisher received only 60% of the points awarded to the winner. This encouraged drivers to fight for the win, because a driver with several wins and a few DNFs could score higher than a driver who always finished strong but never won a race.

From 2003 to 2009 the value of a win was at its lowest, when the 2nd place finisher received 80% of the points awarded to the winner. This encouraged less risky driving because a steady record of high points finishes was better than risking a DNF by driving aggressively for the win.

Starting in 2010, the value of a win was increased again, with the 2nd place finisher getting 72% of the points of the winner.

The links at the top of the page allow you to compare the current season's point structure to the 2003-2009 era (when the value of a win was at its lowest) and the 1991-2002 era (when the value of a win was at its highest). Note that the 'P' column always shows the current season ranking, so you can easily see where the order gets flipped around under a previous points structure.


F1 Driver Progression Chart 2006

Season:   2015    2014    2013    2012    2011    2010    2009    2008    2007    2006  

Hover your mouse over the points in the chart for details. Click on the menu below to see the championship standings after each race.


F1 Season Review 2006


The 2006 Formula One Season

F1 Season Review

For a detailed look at the 2006 Formula One season, check out the
Autosport.com 2006 F1 Season at a Glance.

F1 Season Review

F1 2006 Results
3AustraliaButtonAlonsoRäikkönenR. Schumacher
4San MarinoSchumacherSchumacherAlonsoMontoya
10United StatesSchumacherSchumacherMassaFisichella
13HungaryRäikkönenButtonde la RosaHeidfeld


All feedback is welcome! I probably won't add any functionality to this page anymore, but maybe I'll revisit it in the future...

Enthusiast F1 Links

F1 Fanatic
Clip The Apex
Badger GP

Official F1 and Major Media Links

Yahoo / EuroSport

F1 Team Web Sites

Red Bull Racing
McLaren Honda
Scuderia Ferrari
Mercedes AMG Petronas F1
Lotus F1 Team
Sahara Force India F1 Team
Sauber F1 Team
Scuderia Toro Rosso
Williams F1 Team
Manor Marussia F1 Team