F1 Driver Results Table 2015

Season:   2015    2014    2013    2012    2011    2010    2009    2008    2007    2006  

2010 points structure: 25-18-15-12-10-8-6-4-2-1 

Click on a race column header to sort by the results of that race. Positions in red indicate "not classified" (did not finish 90% of the race distance).

01202Lewis Hamilton44Mercedes2518252518152518258
02181Nico Rosberg6Mercedes1815181525251825184
03160Sebastian Vettel5Ferrari15251510151810121525
0477Valtteri Bottas77Williams1081212151010
0576Kimi Räikkönen7Ferrari121218108124
0674Felipe Massa19Williams128101881512
0751Daniel Ricciardo3Red Bull8128610115
0845Daniil Kvyat26Red Bull221122818
0924Nico Hülkenberg27Force India6486
1023Romain Grosjean8Lotus66416
1122Max Verstappen33Toro Rosso6412
1216Felipe Nasr12Sauber1042
1315Sergio Pérez11Force India14622
1412Pastor Maldonado13Lotus66
1511Fernando Alonso14McLaren110
169Carlos Sainz55Toro Rosso2421
176Jenson Button22McLaren42
186Marcus Ericsson9Sauber411
0Kevin Magnussen20McLaren
0Will Stevens28Marussia
0Roberto Merhi98Marussia

Formula One Points Systems

In its 60-year history, Formula One has seen six different points structures, and for many years the championship also discarded several of a driver's lowest results, presumably to mitigate the damage of getting a couple of DNFs during the season. Here is the list of F1 points scoring systems.

In recent years the points structure has changed to award points to more than the traditional top six finishers—first switching to a top eight structure, and now to a top ten structure. This helps to create some points separation between mid-pack and backmarker teams.

The other significant change between points structures is the changing of the value of a race win relative to second place:

Era1st Place2nd Place% of 1st
1950 to 19608 pts6 pts75%
1961 to 19909 pts6 pts67%
1991 to 200210 pts6 pts60%
2003 to 200910 pts8 pts80%
201025 pts18 pts72%

From 1991 to 2002 the value of a win was at its greatest, when the 2nd place finisher received only 60% of the points awarded to the winner. This encouraged drivers to fight for the win, because a driver with several wins and a few DNFs could score higher than a driver who always finished strong but never won a race.

From 2003 to 2009 the value of a win was at its lowest, when the 2nd place finisher received 80% of the points awarded to the winner. This encouraged less risky driving because a steady record of high points finishes was better than risking a DNF by driving aggressively for the win.

Starting in 2010, the value of a win was increased again, with the 2nd place finisher getting 72% of the points of the winner.

The links at the top of the page allow you to compare the current season's point structure to the 2003-2009 era (when the value of a win was at its lowest) and the 1991-2002 era (when the value of a win was at its highest). Note that the 'P' column always shows the current season ranking, so you can easily see where the order gets flipped around under a previous points structure.


F1 Driver Progression Chart 2015

Season:   2015    2014    2013    2012    2011    2010    2009    2008    2007    2006  

2010 points structure: 25-18-15-12-10-8-6-4-2-1 

Hover your mouse over the points in the chart for details. Click on the menu below to see the championship standings after each race.


F1 Season Review 2015

Read the 2015 F1 Season Preview / Review. Click on the menu below to review each race.

Australian Grand Prix    (13 - 15 March 2015)



Formula1.com Australian GP Race Results

Race Results (58 laps)
DriverTeamTime  Notes
1Lewis HamiltonMercedes1:31:54  25 pts
2Nico RosbergMercedes+1.3s  18 pts
3Sebastian VettelFerrari+34.5s  15 pts
4Felipe MassaWilliams+38.1s  12 pts
5Felipe NasrSauber+95.1s  10 pts
6Daniel RicciardoRed Bull+1 lap  8 pts
7Nico HülkenbergForce India+1 lap  6 pts
8Marcus EricssonSauber+1 lap  4 pts
9Carlos SainzToro Rosso+1 lap  2 pts
10Sergio PérezForce India+1 lap  1 pt
11Jenson ButtonMcLaren+2 laps 
NCKimi RäikkönenFerrari  
NCMax VerstappenToro Rosso  
NCRomain GrosjeanLotus  
NCPastor MaldonadoLotus  
NCDaniil KvyatRed Bull DNS*
NCKevin MagnussenMcLaren DNS*
NCValtteri BottasWilliams DNS*
*Kvyat and Magnussen suffered car failures on the
formation lap. Bottas did not start due to a back injury.



All feedback is welcome! I probably won't add any functionality to this page anymore, but maybe I'll revisit it in the future...

Enthusiast F1 Links

F1 Fanatic
Clip The Apex
Badger GP

Official F1 and Major Media Links

Yahoo / EuroSport

F1 Team Web Sites

Red Bull Racing
McLaren Honda
Scuderia Ferrari
Mercedes AMG Petronas F1
Lotus F1 Team
Sahara Force India F1 Team
Sauber F1 Team
Scuderia Toro Rosso
Williams F1 Team
Manor Marussia F1 Team