F1 Driver Results Table 2019

Season:   2019  ::  See Archive (2006 - 2015)  

Click on a race column header to sort by the results of that race. Positions in red indicate "not classified" (did not finish 90% of the race distance). Fast Lap indicates fast lap bonus.

01250Lewis Hamilton44Mercedes211211115191
02188Valtteri Bottas77Mercedes1221234232158
03181Max Verstappen33Red Bull344434541512
04156Sebastian Vettel5Ferrari4533422541623
05132Charles Leclerc16Ferrari53555203323174
0663Pierre Gasly10Red Bull1186176581074146
0758Carlos Sainz55McLaren2019147861168655
0831Kimi Räikkönen7Alfa Romeo87910141715798127
0927Daniil Kvyat26Toro Rosso10121919971014179315
1024Lando Norris4McLaren1261882011209611189
1122Daniel Ricciardo3Renault19187201296111271914
1218Lance Stroll18Racing Point91412919169131413417
1318Kevin Magnussen20Haas613131371417171920813
1417Nico Hülkenberg27Renault717201413137813101612
1516Alexander Albon23Toro Rosso149101111819151512610
1613Sergio Pérez11Racing Point1310861512121211172011
178Romain Grosjean8Haas18201118101014201619720
181Robert Kubica88Williams171617161818181820151019
191Antonio Giovinazzi99Alfa Romeo151115121619131610181318
0George Russell63Williams161516151715161918141116

Formula One Points Systems

In its 60-year history, Formula One has seen six different points structures, and for many years the championship also discarded several of a driver's lowest results, presumably to mitigate the damage of getting a couple of DNFs during the season. Here is the list of F1 points scoring systems.

In recent years the points structure has changed to award points to more than the traditional top six finishers—first switching to a top eight structure, and now to a top ten structure. This helps to create some points separation between mid-pack and backmarker teams.

The other significant change between points structures is the changing of the value of a race win relative to second place:

Era1st Place2nd Place% of 1st
1950 to 19608 pts6 pts75%
1961 to 19909 pts6 pts67%
1991 to 200210 pts6 pts60%
2003 to 200910 pts8 pts80%
201025 pts18 pts72%

From 1991 to 2002 the value of a win was at its greatest, when the 2nd place finisher received only 60% of the points awarded to the winner. This encouraged drivers to fight for the win, because a driver with several wins and a few DNFs could score higher than a driver who always finished strong but never won a race.

From 2003 to 2009 the value of a win was at its lowest, when the 2nd place finisher received 80% of the points awarded to the winner. This encouraged less risky driving because a steady record of high points finishes was better than risking a DNF by driving aggressively for the win.

Starting in 2010, the value of a win was increased again, with the 2nd place finisher getting 72% of the points of the winner.

The links at the top of the page allow you to compare the current season's point structure to the 2003-2009 era (when the value of a win was at its lowest) and the 1991-2002 era (when the value of a win was at its highest). Note that the 'P' column always shows the current season ranking, so you can easily see where the order gets flipped around under a previous points structure.

Starting in 2019, a bonus point is awarded for the fast lap of the race, but only if the person with the fast lap finishes in the top 10, otherwise no bonus point is awarded. A bonus point for fast lap was previously used from 1950 to 1959.


F1 Driver Progression Chart 2019

Season:   2019  ::  See Archive (2006 - 2015)  

Hover your mouse over the points in the chart for details. Click on the menu below to see the championship standings after each race.


F1 Season Review 2019

Read the 2019 F1 Season Preview / Review. Click on the menu below to review each race.

Spanish Grand Prix    (10 - 12 May 2019)



Formula1.com Spanish GP Qualifying Results

Starting Grid
1Valtteri BottasMercedes
2Lewis HamiltonMercedes
3Sebastian VettelFerrari
4Max VerstappenRed Bull
5Charles LeclercFerrari
6Pierre GaslyRed Bull
7Romain GrosjeanHaas
8Kevin MagnussenHaas
9Daniil KvyatToro Rosso
10Lando NorrisMcLaren
11Alexander AlbonToro Rosso
12Carlos SainzMcLaren
13Daniel RicciardoRenaultPenalty1
14Kimi RäikkönenAlfa Romeo
15Sergio PérezRacing Point
16Lance StrollRacing Point
17Robert KubicaWilliams
18Antonio GiovinazziAlfa RomeoPenalty2
19George RussellWilliamsPenalty2
20Nico HülkenbergRenaultPenalty3
1Ricciardo penalised three places for causing a collision at previous round.
2Giovinazzi & Russell penalised five places for unscheduled gearbox changes.
3Hulkenberg required to start from the pit lane for a change of front wing spec
after qualifying.



With Hamilton and Bottas going back and forth with race wins, it was important for Hamilton to get a Fast Lap point to match Bottas' Fast Lap point in Australia. With Verstappen's second podium of the season he is again P3 in the championship, ahead of both Ferraris.


Formula1.com Spanish GP Race Results

Race Results (66 laps)
DriverTeamTime  Notes
1Lewis HamiltonMercedes1:35:50  26 pts (FL)
2Valtteri BottasMercedes+4.1s  18 pts
3Max VerstappenRed Bull+7.7s  15 pts
4Sebastian VettelFerrari+9.2s  12 pts
5Charles LeclercFerrari+13.4s  10 pts
6Pierre GaslyRed Bull+19.6s  8 pts
7Kevin MagnussenHaas+28.2s  6 pts
8Carlos SainzMcLaren+32.3s  4 pts
9Daniil KvyatToro Rosso+33.1s  2 pts
10Romain GrosjeanHaas+34.6s  1 pt
11Alexander AlbonToro Rosso+35.4s 
12Daniel RicciardoRenault+36.8s 
13Nico HülkenbergRenault+39.2s 
14Kimi RäikkönenAlfa Romeo+41.8s 
15Sergio PérezRacing Point+46.9s 
16Antonio GiovinazziAlfa Romeo+47.7s 
17George RussellWilliams+1 lap 
18Robert KubicaWilliams+1 lap 
NCLance StrollRacing Point44 lapsDNF
NCLando NorrisMcLaren44 lapsDNF



All feedback is welcome! I probably won't add any functionality to this page anymore, but maybe I'll revisit it in the future...

Enthusiast F1 Links

F1 Fanatic
Clip The Apex
Badger GP

Official F1 and Major Media Links

Yahoo / EuroSport

F1 Team Web Sites

Red Bull Racing
McLaren Honda
Scuderia Ferrari
Mercedes AMG Petronas F1
Lotus F1 Team
Sahara Force India F1 Team
Sauber F1 Team
Scuderia Toro Rosso
Williams F1 Team
Manor Marussia F1 Team