F1 Driver Results Table 2019

Season:   2019  ::  See Archive (2006 - 2015)  

Click on a race column header to sort by the results of that race. Positions in red indicate "not classified" (did not finish 90% of the race distance). Fast Lap indicates fast lap bonus.

01381Lewis Hamilton44Mercedes2112111151912341312
02314Valtteri Bottas77Mercedes12212342321583252131
03249Charles Leclerc16Ferrari535552033231741123644
04235Max Verstappen33Red Bull344434541512208341863
05230Sebastian Vettel5Ferrari45334225416234131182220
0684Alexander Albon23TR/Red Bull1491011118191515126105665455
0780Carlos Sainz55McLaren201914786116865519201265138
0877Pierre Gasly10RB/Toro Rosso11861765810741469118147916
0946Daniel Ricciardo3Renault1918720129611127191414414191986
1044Sergio Pérez11Racing Point1310861512121211172011671978710
1141Lando Norris4McLaren126188201120961118911107811207
1237Nico Hülkenberg27Renault7172014131378131016128591020109
1334Daniil Kvyat26Toro Rosso101219199710141793157191512101112
1431Kimi Räikkönen7Alfa Romeo8791014171579812716151813121911
1521Lance Stroll18Racing Point914129191691314134171012131191213
1620Kevin Magnussen20Haas6131313714171719208131218179151518
178Romain Grosjean8Haas1820111810101420161972013161120131715
184Antonio Giovinazzi99Alfa Romeo1511151216191316101813181891015141414
191Robert Kubica88Williams17161716181818182015101917171616171819
0George Russell63Williams16151615171516191814111615142017161617

Formula One Points Systems

In its 60-year history, Formula One has seen six different points structures, and for many years the championship also discarded several of a driver's lowest results, presumably to mitigate the damage of getting a couple of DNFs during the season. Here is the list of F1 points scoring systems.

In recent years the points structure has changed to award points to more than the traditional top six finishers—first switching to a top eight structure, and now to a top ten structure. This helps to create some points separation between mid-pack and backmarker teams.

The other significant change between points structures is the changing of the value of a race win relative to second place:

Era1st Place2nd Place% of 1st
1950 to 19608 pts6 pts75%
1961 to 19909 pts6 pts67%
1991 to 200210 pts6 pts60%
2003 to 200910 pts8 pts80%
201025 pts18 pts72%

From 1991 to 2002 the value of a win was at its greatest, when the 2nd place finisher received only 60% of the points awarded to the winner. This encouraged drivers to fight for the win, because a driver with several wins and a few DNFs could score higher than a driver who always finished strong but never won a race.

From 2003 to 2009 the value of a win was at its lowest, when the 2nd place finisher received 80% of the points awarded to the winner. This encouraged less risky driving because a steady record of high points finishes was better than risking a DNF by driving aggressively for the win.

Starting in 2010, the value of a win was increased again, with the 2nd place finisher getting 72% of the points of the winner.

The links at the top of the page allow you to compare the current season's point structure to the 2003-2009 era (when the value of a win was at its lowest) and the 1991-2002 era (when the value of a win was at its highest). Note that the 'P' column always shows the current season ranking, so you can easily see where the order gets flipped around under a previous points structure.

Starting in 2019, a bonus point is awarded for the fast lap of the race, but only if the person with the fast lap finishes in the top 10, otherwise no bonus point is awarded. A bonus point for fast lap was previously used from 1950 to 1959.


F1 Driver Progression Chart 2019

Season:   2019  ::  See Archive (2006 - 2015)  

Hover your mouse over the points in the chart for details. Click on the menu below to see the championship standings after each race.


F1 Season Review 2019

Read the 2019 F1 Season Preview / Review. Click on the menu below to review each race.

German Grand Prix    (26 - 28 July 2019)


This year's German Grand Prix is at Hockenheim.


Ferrari led all three practice sessions, and then qualifying happened. It was a complete disaster. First, Sebastian Vettel failed to set a Q1 time with a mechanical problem (issue with the intercooler). He will start from the back of the grid. Charles Leclerc led Q1 and easily made it to Q3, but then failed to set a time in Q3 with a fuel pump driver module failure. He will start P10 on the grid.

Formula1.com German GP Qualifying Results

Starting Grid
1Lewis HamiltonMercedes
2Max VerstappenRed Bull
3Valtteri BottasMercedes
4Pierre GaslyRed Bull
5Kimi RäikkönenAlfa Romeo
6Romain GrosjeanHaas
7Carlos SainzMcLaren
8Sergio PérezRacing Point
9Nico HülkenbergRenault
10Charles LeclercFerrari
11Antonio GiovinazziAlfa Romeo
12Kevin MagnussenHaas
13Daniel RicciardoRenault
14Daniil KvyatToro Rosso
15Lance StrollRacing Point
16Lando NorrisMcLaren
17Alexander AlbonToro Rosso
18George RussellWilliams
19Robert KubicaWilliams
20Sebastian Vettel1Ferrari
1Vettel races at stewards' discretion after failing to set a time in qualifying.



A remarkable wet/dry race saw Max Verstappen win his 2nd race of the season, Vettel climb from dead last in P20 to finish P2, and Daniil Kvyat earn Toro Rosso just its 2nd podium ever, after Vettel's win at the 2008 Italian Grand Prix. And for the first time this year, Mercedes had no podium finishers.

Verstappen wins wild German GP from Vettel and Kvyat (Racer.com)


Formula1.com German GP Race Results

Race Results (64 laps)
DriverTeamTime  Notes
1Max VerstappenRed Bull1:44:31  26 pts (FL)
2Sebastian VettelFerrari+7.3s  18 pts
3Daniil KvyatToro Rosso+8.3s  15 pts
4Lance StrollRacing Point+9.0s  12 pts
5Carlos SainzMcLaren+9.6s  10 pts
6Alexander AlbonToro Rosso+10.1s  8 pts
7Romain GrosjeanHaas+16.9s  6 pts
8Kevin MagnussenHaas+18.8s  4 pts
9Lewis HamiltonMercedes+19.7s  2 pts
10Robert KubicaWilliams+25.0s  1 pt
11George RussellWilliams+26.4s 
12Kimi RäikkönenAlfa Romeo+42.2sPenalty1
13Antonio GiovinazziAlfa Romeo+43.8sPenalty1
14Pierre GaslyRed Bull+3 lapsDNF
NCValtteri BottasMercedes56 lapsDNF
NCNico HülkenbergRenault39 lapsDNF
NCCharles LeclercFerrari27 lapsDNF
NCLando NorrisMcLaren25 lapsDNF
NCDaniel RicciardoRenault13 lapsDNF
NCSergio PérezRacing Point1 lapDNF
1Raikkonen and Giovinazzi had 30 seconds added to their
race times for use of driver aids at the start, dropping them
out of two points-paying positions.



All feedback is welcome! I probably won't add any functionality to this page anymore, but maybe I'll revisit it in the future...

Enthusiast F1 Links

F1 Fanatic
Clip The Apex
Badger GP

Official F1 and Major Media Links

Yahoo / EuroSport

F1 Team Web Sites

Red Bull Racing
McLaren Honda
Scuderia Ferrari
Mercedes AMG Petronas F1
Lotus F1 Team
Sahara Force India F1 Team
Sauber F1 Team
Scuderia Toro Rosso
Williams F1 Team
Manor Marussia F1 Team