F1 Driver Results Table 2015

Season:   2015    2014    2013    2012    2011    2010    2009    2008    2007    2006  

Click on a race column header to sort by the results of that race. Positions in red indicate "not classified" (did not finish 90% of the race distance).

01202Lewis Hamilton44Mercedes1211231216
02181Nico Rosberg6Mercedes2323112128
03160Sebastian Vettel5Ferrari3135325431
0477Valtteri Bottas77Williams56441435513
0576Kimi Räikkönen7Ferrari1244256419818
0674Felipe Massa19Williams4651061563412
0751Daniel Ricciardo3Red Bull61096751310153
0845Daniil Kvyat26Red Bull16919910491262
0924Nico Hülkenberg27Force India7142013151186720
1023Romain Grosjean8Lotus1411778121015177
1122Max Verstappen33Toro Rosso13717181118158164
1216Felipe Nasr12Sauber51281212916112011
1315Sergio Pérez11Force India1013118137119919
1412Pastor Maldonado13Lotus151618151920771814
1511Fernando Alonso14McLaren18121120192020105
169Carlos Sainz55Toro Rosso98131991012161417
176Jenson Button22McLaren111714201681917199
186Marcus Ericsson9Sauber8191014141314131110
0Kevin Magnussen20McLaren17
0Will Stevens28Marussia1516171717181316
0Roberto Merhi98Marussia151617181618141215

Formula One Points Systems

In its 60-year history, Formula One has seen six different points structures, and for many years the championship also discarded several of a driver's lowest results, presumably to mitigate the damage of getting a couple of DNFs during the season. Here is the list of F1 points scoring systems.

In recent years the points structure has changed to award points to more than the traditional top six finishers—first switching to a top eight structure, and now to a top ten structure. This helps to create some points separation between mid-pack and backmarker teams.

The other significant change between points structures is the changing of the value of a race win relative to second place:

Era1st Place2nd Place% of 1st
1950 to 19608 pts6 pts75%
1961 to 19909 pts6 pts67%
1991 to 200210 pts6 pts60%
2003 to 200910 pts8 pts80%
201025 pts18 pts72%

From 1991 to 2002 the value of a win was at its greatest, when the 2nd place finisher received only 60% of the points awarded to the winner. This encouraged drivers to fight for the win, because a driver with several wins and a few DNFs could score higher than a driver who always finished strong but never won a race.

From 2003 to 2009 the value of a win was at its lowest, when the 2nd place finisher received 80% of the points awarded to the winner. This encouraged less risky driving because a steady record of high points finishes was better than risking a DNF by driving aggressively for the win.

Starting in 2010, the value of a win was increased again, with the 2nd place finisher getting 72% of the points of the winner.

The links at the top of the page allow you to compare the current season's point structure to the 2003-2009 era (when the value of a win was at its lowest) and the 1991-2002 era (when the value of a win was at its highest). Note that the 'P' column always shows the current season ranking, so you can easily see where the order gets flipped around under a previous points structure.


F1 Driver Progression Chart 2015

Season:   2015    2014    2013    2012    2011    2010    2009    2008    2007    2006  

Hover your mouse over the points in the chart for details. Click on the menu below to see the championship standings after each race.


F1 Season Review 2015

Read the 2015 F1 Season Preview / Review. Click on the menu below to review each race.

Hungarian Grand Prix    (24 - 26 July 2015)


All feedback is welcome! I probably won't add any functionality to this page anymore, but maybe I'll revisit it in the future...

Enthusiast F1 Links

F1 Fanatic
Clip The Apex
Badger GP

Official F1 and Major Media Links

Yahoo / EuroSport

F1 Team Web Sites

Red Bull Racing
McLaren Honda
Scuderia Ferrari
Mercedes AMG Petronas F1
Lotus F1 Team
Sahara Force India F1 Team
Sauber F1 Team
Scuderia Toro Rosso
Williams F1 Team
Manor Marussia F1 Team